Central Election Commission

Chairperson: Ms. Ivilina Aleksiena
Phone: ++359 2 939-22-42
Fax: ++359 2 987-64-56
E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web Address: www.cik.bg
Address: 1 Al Batenberg sq., Sofia , 1169, Bulgaria

The Bulgarian election system is a proportional multi-mandate constituency system with a bound party list. 4-13 mandates are allocated to every constituency, altogether 31. Voters are given ballot-papers with envelopes prepared in advance. A valid vote is a ballot-paper of a party in an envelope. Mandates are distributed among the parties getting valid votes exceeding the threshold of 4% on the national level. The mandates are allocated on the basis of the d'Hondt formula. After that the mandates are allocated on the basis of territorial lists. The unicameral National Assembly or Narodno Sobranie’s members (with 240 seats) are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms.

For more information on Bulgarian elections please visit the ACE Electoral Knowledge Network