State Election Commission

  Chairman: Mr. Branko Hrvatin
  Phone: 014569713
  Fax: 014569781
  E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  Web Address:
  Address: Visoka 15, 10000  Zagreb,  Croatia
The Croatian Parliament (Sabor) is a unicameral legislative body (a second chamber, the "House of Counties", which was set up by the Constitution of 1990, it was abolished in 2001). The Council of Ministers named by the prime minister and approved by the parliamentary Assembly. Elections are carried out in a direct way with secret ballot, the number of the Sabor's members can vary from 100 to 160, and they are all elected to serve four-year terms. The president is elected also by popular vote for a five-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held 16 January 2005 (next to be held in January 2010); the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the president and then approved by the Assembly. Every Croat citizen over 18 has an active and a passive right to vote.
For more information on Croatia elections, please visit the ACE Electoral Knowledge Network