The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 7-year term. In the Grand National Assembly of Turkey (Turkiye Buyuk Millet Meclisi) 550 members are elected by popular vote to serve 5-year terms. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the president on the nomination of the prime minister. The elected president must have a two-thirds majority of the National Assembly on the first two ballots and a simple majority on the third ballot.
For more information on Turkey elections, please visit the ACE Electoral Knowledge Network